News Article

New ISO Standard for Bicycles Implemented

Laws & Regulations

GENEVA, Switzerland – The International Organization for Standardization ISO published the new ISO 4210:2014 standard for bicycles. It has been developed in response to demand throughout the world and to ensure that bicycles manufactured in compliance with this International Standard will be as safe as is practically possible.

New ISO Standard for Bicycles Implemented
The ISO 4210 specifies safety and performance requirements for the design, assembly, and testing of bicycles. – Photo ISO

The new standards have been prepared by Technical Committee ISO/TC 149 “Cycles” in collaboration with Technical Committee CEN/TC 333 “Cycles”.

This European Standard will get the status of a national standard, either by publication of an identical text or by endorsement and conflicting national standards will be withdrawn.

ISO 4210:2014 consists of the following parts, under the general title Cycles — Safety requirements for bicycles:

The ISO 4210 specifies safety and performance requirements for the design, assembly, and testing of bicycles and sub-assemblies.

The new standard includes an all new category called ‘young adult bicycles’ with a maximum saddle height of 635 mm or more and less than 750 mm. The ISO 4210 does not apply to specialized types of bicycle, such as delivery bicycles, recumbent bicycles, tandems, BMX bicycles, and bicycles designed and equipped for use in severe applications such as sanctioned competition events, stunting, or aerobatic manoeuvres.

According to the CEN-CENELEC Internal Regulations, the national standards organizations of the following countries are bound to implement this European Standard: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

Download new ISO standard here.

Comment on this article