News Article

Taipei Cycle Awards: 57 Winning Products

Shows & Events

TAIPEI, Taiwan – The Taiwan External Trade Development Council and the Taiwan Bicycle Association, organizers of the 2015 Taipei Cycle d&i awards, announced 57 winning entries from 10 countries, including 5 gold awards and 1 ‘gold award-young enterprise’, new for 2015.

Taipei Cycle Awards: 57 Winning Products
The 2015 judging panel at work. - Photo iF Design Forum

The international judging panel selected winners out of 209 entries from 15 countries for design and innovation in cycling. The number of international entries grew 37% comparing with 2014, showing that the competition has drawn global attention as the platform to present what’s upcoming for cycling industry.

Awards will be given at the 2015 Taipei Cycle Pre-Show Press Conference on March 17th, and winning entries will be on display at the 2015 Taipei Cycle Show March 18th through 21st on the 1st floor of the Taipei World Trade Center Nangang Exhibition Hall.


Judges noted several trends revealed by entries this year. Instead of the past focus on improving a bicycle part or accessory by adding digital features, many entries this year featured innovations that integrate electronic devices or digital applications with complete bikes. For instance, an E-bike with built-in SIM card in the frame provides information on positioning with anti-theft function and battery charge status through the app in the smartphone, enhancing security and safety for commuters. Others include a pump that delivers the status of tire pressure simultaneously through the app in the mobile device using Bluetooth technology, preventing the risk associated with excessive tire pressure.

The 2015 judging panel

Executed by iF Design Forum for the 4th year, the 2015 judging panel included:

  • Ulrika Saade (Velokonzept Saade GmbH, German)
  • Cesare Sun(Gearlab, Taiwan)
  • Georg Todtenbier (CRE8 Design, Germany)
  • Gideon Loewy (Scandinavian Design, Denmark)
  • Michael Steen (NIKE, U.S.)
  • Norbert Haller (Idberlin, Germany)

The panel took the following criteria into consideration for the selection of the award winners: degree of innovation, design quality, workmanship, choice of material, environmental sustainability, functionality, utility, safety, ergonomics and universal design.

Comment on this article